Besides instructing His disciples to use His Name to function, John the Beloved tells us further that Jesus also taught His disciples to pray to the Father in His Name. To do that, He first of all drew their attention to the necessity of not only believing in the Father but to also believe in Him. He therefore told them, Let not your heart be troubled: YE BELIEVE IN GOD, BELIEVE ALSO IN ME” [John 14:1].

This was a way of asking them to believe in His Name, considering that a man can’t be separated from His name. You see, to believe in Jesus means to believe in His Name.

Jesus went further to teach His disciples about the guarantee of answers to prayer whenever prayer was made to the Father in His Name, and not through His Name. Look at what He said, “Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father. And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son. IF YE SHALL ASK ANY THING IN MY NAME, I will do it” [John 14:12-14].

His emphasis here is “IF YE ASK IN MY NAME.” This was a conditional statement, because someone could choose to ask in another name, considering that man is a free moral agent. But you see, asking in His Name was the only platform from which they could have guaranteed answers to their prayers.

Jesus never taught anywhere that people should ask the Father for anything “THROUGH” His Name. This is significant because to ask for something IN the name of someone is different from asking THROUGH his name. To ask IN the Name of Jesus is as if He were the one asking directly from the Father. That’s the difference! Jesus wanted His disciples to ask IN His Name and not THROUGH His Name; because this would make them operate in His capacity/class; so that when the Father hears them asking IN the Name of Jesus, it would look like it were Jesus Himself who was asking. This would guarantee answers because the Father wouldn’t deny anything from the Son.

Jesus’ Name is His signature; and anytime the disciples used it, they were sure of receiving an answer from the Father, because it sounded like Jesus asking from the Father. The answer was certain because Jesus always said: “Father, I thank thee that thou hast heard me.  And I knew that thou hearest me always: but because of the people which standby I said it, that they may believe that thou hast sent me” [John 11:41-42].

 Now, listen to this again: And in that day ye shall ask me nothing. Verily, verily, I say unto you, whatsoever ye shall ask the Father in my name, he will give it you. Hitherto have ye asked nothing in my name: ask, and ye shall receive, that your joy may be full. These things have I spoken unto you in proverbs: but the time cometh, when I shall no more speak unto you in proverbs, but I shall shew you plainly of the Father. At that day ye shall ask in my name: and I say not unto you, that I will pray the Father for you: For the Father himself loveth you, because ye have loved me, and have believed that I came out from God. I came forth from the Father, and am come into the world: again, I leave the world, and go to the Father” [John 16:23-28].

Jesus’ emphasis again was that the disciples needed to pray to the Father, and not to Him, but they were to pray IN His Name, because that was the only thing that would guarantee answers to their prayer.  All they needed to do was to simply “believe in His Name,” and then go ahead to make exploits for God’s Kingdom in His [Jesus’] Name.

Speaking by the Spirit, Paul tells us that: “And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, DO ALL IN THE NAME OF THE LORD JESUS, giving thanks to God and the Father by him” [Colossians 3:17].

Beloved, “if ye shall ask anything in my name…” is what Jesus is telling us. The question now is, “what do you want?” Just go ahead and ask the Father IN the name of Jesus, and believe that it’s done. Alleluia!

I’m certain that you have been blessed by this piece. Please, don’t hesitate to leave your comment and recommend this site [http://www.ncrealities.wordpress.com] to someone you love and care for. Remember, I’m only an email away and will gladly receive a direct mail from you through prosperanang@gmail.com in order to share some spiritual issues that are bothering you, bearing in mind that your spiritual welfare is my utmost concern. Follow me on twitter @prosperanang. I love you and I’m praying for you.

You’re deeply loved, highly favoured and greatly blessed.

Jesus Is Lord!

 

 

