With the understanding that He came to set up a New Covenant, Jesus didn’t teach His disciples to use the Name of the Father. Instead, because of the spiritual shift brought about by the New Covenant that is established on better promises according to Hebrews 8:6, He taught His disciples to use His Name – Jesus.

Teaching His disciples to use His Name was a sort of right or authority that He was bequeathing on them to use His Name to do whatever He asked or wanted them to do, considering that His Name is His signature.

Matthew records how Jesus called His twelve disciples and vested on them the authority (power) over unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal all kinds of sickness and all kinds of disease.

Matthew 10:1

1 And when he had called unto him his twelve disciples, he gave them power against unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal all manner of sickness and all manner of disease.

 What Matthew wasn’t specific about in his account here was that he didn’t tell us in whose Name the disciples were expected to carry out this divine assignment. Well, we don’t have to guess because God’s Word is clear on the issue. So let’s allow scriptures to interpret scriptures.

In Luke’s account of how Jesus sent out His disciples again, we’re told that: After these things the Lord appointed other seventy also, and sent them two and two before his face into every city and place, whither he himself would come” [Luke 10:1].

Here, Luke doesn’t tell us exactly what the assignment of the disciples was, and in whose name they were to carry out this assignment. However, Luke’s account of the outcome of the disciples’ obedience reveals to us that they were commissioned to do what Matthew tells us in Matthew 10:1; and in addition to that, they were saddled with the right to use the Name of Jesus to carry out that assignment.

Matthew 10:1

1 And when he had called unto him his twelve disciples, he gave them power against unclean spirits, to cast them out, and to heal all manner of sickness and all manner of disease.

 Luke 10:17

17 And the seventy returned again with joy, saying, Lord, even the devils are subject unto us through thy name.

 It’s clear that these disciples were commissioned by Jesus to preach the gospel, cast out demons and heal people from all kind of sickness and disease, in His Name. They did exactly as they were instructed, and they came back rejoicing.

Saint Mark records the very words of Jesus, after His resurrection, where He commissioned the disciples to believe in His Name and use it to do exploit for God’s Kingdom. So Mark writes this about Jesus: And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature. He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned. And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover” [Mark 16:15-18].

In verses 17-18, Jesus leaves us with the supernatural possibilities that the disciples stood to enjoy by using His Name in faith. “And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues; They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover”.

You see, by exercising faith in and using the Name of Jesus:

  • Demons are cast out,
  • You receive the Baptism in the Holy Spirit, with evidence of speaking in tongues,
  • You begin to walk in dominion over all the power of the enemy,
  • Poisonous beverages will have no effect on you,
  • You’ll lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.

As a Christian you have the right to use the Name of Jesus, so go ahead and use it. Pray and say: “I decree and declare that in the Name of Jesus, I have authority to cast out demons, heal the sick, set the captive free, and deliver the oppressed.”

In case you’re reading this and you’re not yet born again, using the name of Jesus would be practically imposssible. What you need right now is to enter into a relationship  with Jesus. You can do that by simply praying the following prayer of faith:

“Dear God, according to Romans 4:25, I believe in my heart that Jesus died for my sins, and rose again to make me right with you, in order to fill me with your goodness. I also confess with my mouth that Jesus is Lord. Today, I accept Jesus into my heart as my Personal Lord and Saviour.

In accordance with Romans 10:10, which say if I believe with my heart and confess with my mouth, I will be saved, I know that from now henceforth: I am born again; I am a new creation in Christ, old things are passed away, behold, all things have become new. I have the very life of God in me; I am God’s righteousness in Christ. I am lifted with Christ and together we are seated in heaven at the right hand of the Father, far, far above principalities and powers. Just as Christ is, so am I in this world, in Jesus’ Name”. Amen.

Congratulations! You’re now born again. Welcome to God’s supernatural family built on the foundation that’s Christ. I’m certain that you have been blessed by this piece. Please, don’t hesitate to leave your comment and recommend this site [http://www.ncrealities.wordpress.com] to someone you love and care for. Remember, I’m only an email away and will gladly receive a direct mail from you through prosperanang@gmail.com in order to share some spiritual issues that are bothering you, bearing in mind that your spiritual welfare is my utmost concern. Follow me on twitter @prosperanang. I love you and I’m praying for you.

You’re deeply loved, highly favoured and greatly blessed.

Jesus Is Lord!

 

