“Beloved, I wish above all things that thou mayest prosper and be in health, even as thy soul prospereth” (3John1:2)

One of the things we all have in common is emotions. It’s one thing to have emotions and it’s entirely another thing for emotions to have you. In one of my previous posts on “OBTAINING MASTERY OVER NEGATIVE EMOTIONS [MASTERING YOUR EMOTIONS], I said emotions are feelings on the inside caused by pain or pleasure with the sole purpose of moving you in a certain direction. My paramount concern is on the direction emotions are trying to move you to. I understand from God’s Word that every Christian is expected to be a victor and not a victim. They’re supposed to move in the right direction and not in the wrong direction. The reason for such an expectation is simply because we’re made in the image and likeness of God, with the ability to reflect His authority, dominion, power and glory. The start point is our “emotions,” the “soul,” which is referred to in 3 John 1:2. It’s important to be reminded that the human soul is made up of three components: the thinker [mind], the feeler [emotions] and the chooser [will power].

John the Beloved tells us by the Holy Spirit that as your soul goes so the rest of your life will go. What this means is that the manifestations you get in your physical life are a function of the state of your soul. Your life and its fruits reflect the condition of your soul. This also means your life can never flourish physically more than your soul flourishes.

God created us to be in control of our emotions not to be controlled by our emotions. Having a mastery over your emotions doesn’t mean you don’t have emotions. Walking by faith and not by sight according to 2 Corinthians 5:7 doesn’t mean you don’t have emotions. Emotions have been put in us by God, because they form an integral part of our soul. Psychologists have proven and accepted that women live longer than men. This doesn’t mean that naturally women have a longer life span than men. The reason is because men internalize their emotions while women externalize theirs. The emotions you don’t deal with will end up dealing with you. Because men internalize their emotions, they end up having sicknesses and afflictions emanating from emotions that haven’t been dealt with; which in most cases are the primary causes of most internal sicknesses like: high blood pressure, cardiovascular disease, chest pains, respiratory difficulties, bronchitis, and so on.

A lot of people are under the curse of being controlled by their emotions, because they’re not born again. This was the case of Adam and Eve, who entered a curse because they allowed themselves to be ruled by their negative emotions. Insecure people try to control others in order to have a sense of value. But God hasn’t called us to try to control others. Any true leader is suppose and is called to inspire people to follow him not to control people to follow him. There’s a difference between inspiring people and controlling (manipulating) people, both of which are aimed at convincing people to follow you. People will prefer to follow a person who has inspired them because they’re convinced it’s a willing act. While people will equally follow a person who has controlled (or manipulated) them because they have no other option (it’s an obligatory act). Don’t be a leader, any where you’re, who attracts people to himself through the manipulating power. It’s an evidence of lack of inner peace and the presence of insecurity. Rather, be a leader who attracts people to himself through his inspirations.

WHAT ARE WE SUPPOSE TO CONTROL?

We’re to control our thoughts (emotions). That was exactly what king Solomon meant when he said: “He that is slow to anger is better than the mighty; and he that ruleth his spirit (soul, emotions) than he that taketh a city” (Proverbs 16:32).

When we get hold of our thoughts, we control our emotions; then we’ll have a sense of security inside and we’ll not try to manipulate other people. Dear friend, your responsibility is to take hold of your thinking and make sure it’s in line with the Word of God, because your emotions will always follow your thoughts. If you can control your emotions, you’ll definitely be able to do all things just like Paul quipped: “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me (Philippians 4:13).

It’s important to consider what Paul said in the previous epistles: “I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live, yet not I, but Christ liveth in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the son of God who loved me and gave himself for me” [Galatians 2:20].

“I therefore, the prisoner of the Lord, beseech you that ye walk worthy of the vocation where with ye are called” [Ephesians 4:1].

“But what things were gain to me those I counted loss for Christ, yea doubtless and I count all things but loss for the Excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung that I may win Christ. Brethren, I count not myself to have apprehended. But this one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forth unto those things which are before, I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus” [Philippians 3:7-8, 13,14].

It was, however, after these statements, which were an obvious indication that he had control over his negative emotions; that he bluntly declared: “I can do all things…” [Philippians 4:13].  It takes only a believer who has complete rule over his negative emotions to be positioned in a place where s/he knows no impossibility.

As I continue I’d like you to take note of the following three things:

FIRSTLY, you can take control of your emotions

SECONDLY, controlling your emotions is achieved by harnessing the power of self-control – a godly force designed by God to direct our lives in the place that God has pre-ordained for us.

THIRDLY, uncontrolled emotions will lead to controlling the wrong thing; that is, people.

Jesus, however, had emotions, but emotions didn’t have Him. I mean that His emotions didn’t control His life. “For we have not an high priest which cannot be touched with the feelings of our infirmities; but was in all points tempted like as we are, yet without sin”.

He was tempted to allow His emotions to direct His life but He didn’t yield to the temptation. Like Jesus, you have authority not only to heal the sick, cast out devils, cleans the lepers, raise the dead, but also to dominate all your negative emotions. I say you have the authority.

Say aloud: I have the authority to rule, to control and dominate all negative emotions in my soul with the power of the Word of God.

THE ROOT OF NEGATIVE EMOTIONS

 “Beloved I wish above all things that thous mayest prosper  and be in good health; even as thy soul prospereth (3 John 1:2)

Man doesn’t have a spirit, as many claim. Rather, it’s better to say man is a spirit being; he possesses a soul and lives in a body. The human soul is the compartment of feelings, otherwise referred to as emotions. It’s therefore a great danger for a person to allow himself to be emotionally controlled. I have taken time to make sure the word emotion is clearly defined; for the purpose of proper understanding.

I have stated earlier that emotions are feelings on the inside, caused by pains, or pleasure with the sole purpose of moving us in a certain direction. What you think defines your emotions. In other words, the kinds of emotions that dominate you are determined by your thinking pattern. If your thinking is in line with the Word of God, it simply means your emotions will equally be in line with the Word of God; and that will also mean that you won’t have any insecurity from the inside that will instigate you to control the wrong thing.

This is how it works: your thinking will determine the kinds of emotions that will rule your life and the kinds of emotions that will rule your life will define the direction in which you’ll move; and only one direction is possible – either towards the will of God or away from His will. Your emotions will either take you close to God or away from Him. They’ll make you a friend of God or an enemy. Beloved, you have emotions and if you don’t know how to control them, they will control you. All it takes to control your emotions is temperance; also known as self-control.

Just take a minute to say this prayer: “Today, Lord gives me the grace to study your word to mediate on it day and night. Let my thinking line up with your word, so that I can control my emotions. I promise by your Grace upon my life, to do all I can do to study your Word. As I study your Word, I have understanding, wisdom and revelation in Jesus’ name.”

You need to realize that being controlled by your emotions instead of you controlling your emotions is a problem which needs careful attention to be dealt with. Adam wasn’t controlled by his emotions, until Eve his wife yielded to the information she received from the devil. As a result of yielding to Satan’s suggestion, her ability to control her emotions was subdued. She looked at the fruit, took it and made a decision through her emotion to eat it. Be wise not to make emotional decisions. It’s very dangerous. 

The root of all negative emotions in a person’s life is a sense of powerlessness – a situation in life in which you’re completely void of power, you’re helpless and desperate in such a situation, the only thought that soars in the victim’s mind is the thought of “I can’t. Have you ever encountered a situation in life in which you were completely powerless? It has always been a pathetic moment in the lives of people. Usually the outcome of such moments of powerlessness is overwhelming. It leads to the following among others: Depression, Anger, Bitterness, Hatred, Malice, Hopelessness, Fear, Pride, Condemnation, Doubt, Unbelief, Obsession, Oppression, Suspicion, Unforgiveness, Grief, Sadness, Unhappiness, Lost of joy, Low self esteem, Self criticism or judgment, etc.

All these and many others emanate from a sense of powerlessness. It’s just an emotional thought/feeling. “I can’t” This has caused a lot of havoc in many homes, marriages and relationships. The greatest change you can do in a relationship is to change yourself, not to try to change somebody else. Jesus, our perfect example puts it this way. “Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again. And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye. Or who will thou say to thy brother, let me pull out the mote out of thine eye, and behold a beam is in thin own eye. Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thin own eye, and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye” [Matthew 7:1-5].

LIES OF THE DEVILS

There are however three specific things about your life that the devil would want you to be convinced about.

Firstly, he wants to convince you that you can’t change your circumstances. Never forget that the ability or power to change your circumstances comes from Jesus. That is why Paul could say “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” He was simply saying I have the ability of Christ in me, so “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me” He was simply saying I have the ability of Christ in me, so I can do all things.

Secondly, he wants to convince you that you can’t change your personality.

You have heard some people say, “This is how I am” or “ I was brought up like this …”. This is a lie beloved. You can change your personality. “For with God all things are possible” [Luke 1:37].

 Thirdly, he wants to convince you that you can’t change your weakness; such as smoking, immoral life style, drinking of alcohol, chasing of women/men, talkativeness, lies telling and others. This is another big lie. Don’t belief the devil. All it takes to change is a willingness to change. If you’re ever willing to change, then look unto God and the change will be made possible. You were not born a thief, drunkard, prostitute or cheat; so you won’t die a thief, drunkard, prostitute or cheat. The goodness I have for you is that you can change. All it takes is to control your emotions. Tells yourself always “I have supernatural strength to face all conditions, by the power that Christ gives me” Yes, you can because it’s “… Not by might, nor by power, but by my spirit, saith the LORD of hosts” [Zechariah 4:7].

WHAT IT TAKES TO CONTROL YOUR EMOTIONS

In controlling your negative emotions, there’re some things you’re not expected to do while there’re things you must do.

  1. Avoid trying to change somebody to be like you because you’re not better than that person. Change yourself first.
  2. Take people the way they’re, hoping that God the Master changer will change them gradually, considering that the process of change is not instantaneous.
  3. Learn to accept yourself as you’re. Remember, there’re things about your life which you can’t change while there’re things you can change. Go ahead and live with those things you can’t change and adopt appropriate measures to change those you can.
  4. Learn to be patient with others
  5. Avoid self criticism
  6. Avoid criticizing other people
  7. Forget about your past achievements and failures so that you can concentrate on what lies ahead. This is because where you are coming from is not as half important as where you’re going to.
  8. Learn to bear and show forbearance. It’s not everything that the eyes see or the ear hear that the mouth must speak
  9. Be self-controlled
  10. Be always ready to forgive and forget
  11. Always expect offences from the unexpected
  12. Be intentional in your relationship. Don’t always tell the people their needs, but meet their needs.
  13. Know that God uses our past to shape, prepare and equip us for the future
  14. The battle is over your future, not over your past or present.
  15. Count/consider suffering for Christ’s sake as a privilege. Having understood this, Paul could say “That I may know him and the power of his resurrection and the fellowship of his suffering. (Philippians 3:10).
  16. Be humble, and understand that true humility is not a denial of strength. It is an acknowledgement of weakness. In other words, learn to acknowledge your weakness.
  17. Learn to appreciate those who have and do what you don’t have and can’t do.
  18. Always think and react in line with the Word of God.
  19. Avoid comparison
  20. See yourself the way God sees you and not from the human perspective
  21. Also remember that a sense of powerlessness is the root of all negative emotions. By implication avoid seeing yourself “unable” always believe that you can do all things through Christ.
  22. Powerlessness is an option which you don’t have to accept

 Beloved, I would like to bring to your awareness that you have a God-given right, ability, power and authority to change every negative emotion that has been governing your life. All you need now is to fully involve God in the battle. You can make it only through Christ: “For without me ye can do nothing” [John 15:5].

As a believer, I want you to know that you have authority. You have tolerated enough what you were not supposed to tolerate. Authority is a God-given right to command or rule. God gave authority to Adam over the whole earth. Adam lost that authority to the devil, so the devil had that authority over the whole earth. Jesus came and took the authority over the whole earth from the devil and gave back to the church. So you and I have authority over the whole earth, even over negative emotions. “And Jesus came and spake unto them saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth” [Matthew 28:18].

“Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy; and nothing shall be any means hurt you” [Luke 10:19].

 ANANG’S PRINCIPLES FOR RISING ABOVE YOUR EMOTIONS    

  • Always remember that you’re made in the image and likeness of God, with the ability to reflect His authority, dominion, power and glory.
  • The manifestations you get in your physical life are a function of the state of your soul.
  • God created you to be in control of your emotions not to be controlled by your emotions.
  • The emotions you don’t deal with will end up dealing with you.
  • Always inspire people to follow you rather than manipulate them to follow you; because inspiration is the work of true leadership.
  • Causing people to follow you through manipulation is an act of lack of inner peace and the presence of insecurity.
  • Control your thoughts and not people.
  • You stand the chance of doing all things if you can control your emotions.
  • Controlling your emotions is achieved through self-control, one of the entities of the fruit of the born again human spirit.
  • Uncontrolled emotions will lead to controlling the wrong thing; that is, people.
  • You have the authority needed to control your negative emotions.

Dear friend, it will be practically impossible without the help of Jesus to be able to rise above negative emotions, given that He has made it clear in His Word that “…without me ye can do nothing” [John 15:5]. What you need right now in case you’re not in a relationship with Jesus is to enter into one with Him, because that’s where your supernatural rise above negative emotions begins. You can do that by simply praying the following prayer of faith:

“Dear God, according to Romans 4:25, I believe in my heart that Jesus died for my sins, and rose again to make me right with you, in order to fill me with your goodness. I also confess with my mouth that Jesus is Lord. Today, I accept Jesus into my heart as my Personal Lord and Saviour.

In accordance with Romans 10:10, which say if I believe with my heart and confess with my mouth, I will be saved, I know that from now henceforth: I am born again; I am a new creation in Christ, old things are passed away, behold, all things have become new. I have the very life of God in me; I am God’s righteousness in Christ. I am lifted with Christ and together we are seated in heaven at the right hand of the Father, far, far above principalities and powers. Just as Christ is, so am I in this world, in Jesus’ Name”. Amen.

Congratulations! You’re now born again. Welcome to God’s supernatural family built on the foundation that’s Christ. I’m certain that you have been blessed by this piece. Please, don’t hesitate to leave your comment and recommend this site to someone you love and care for. You can also send me a direct mail through prosperanang@gmail.com in order to share some spiritual issues that are bothering you, bearing in mind that your spiritual welfare is my utmost concern. Follow me on twitter @prosperanang. I love you and I’m praying for you. You’re deeply loved, highly favoured and greatly blessed. Remain forever blessed in Christ.

Jesus is Lord!

 

