TRIUMPHING OVER ANXIETY [2]

Today, my focus is going to be on establishing a biblical definition for anxiety. 

What’s Anxiety?

ANXIETY is an attitude or a life style that blinds us from recognizing and appreciating what we have, because it engulfs (swallows) us with the false consciousness of what we think or feel we don’t have.

In Matthew 6:25 Jesus said: “So my counsel is: Don’t worry about things – (like) food, drink, and clothes. For you already have life and a body – and they are FAR MORE IMPORTANT than what to eat and wear.”

Some Big (huge, gigantic, immense) Problems of Anxiety!

Matthew 6:26-27 [The birds of the air and the lilies of the field]

  1. Anxiety doesn’t add any positive value to your life; rather it takes away from the already existing values. That’s a really huge problem. So you must learn to keep yourself from the trap of anxiety. Take a look at the life of the young rich fool in Luke 12:13-21, because it explains it all.
  2. Anxiety is inimical [detrimental / disadvantageous] to the flow of God’s peace in our lives, that surpasses all human understanding and guards your heart and mind through Christ [Philippians 4:6-7]. Imagine Jesus sleeping in the midst of a severe storm [Mark 4:35-41]. He could do that because His life was free from anxiety.
  3. Anxiety compels people to place their priority on the wrong thing [Luke 10:38-42].

In Matthew 6:26-27 Jesus uses two examples to teach us why we shouldn’t for any reason allow our lives to be dominated by the tendency of being more conscious of the less important things – an attitude that is likened to serving money, instead our lives should be dominated by the thoughts of the far more important things – what God has already given us.

Firstly, He talks about the birds of the air, which, in spite of what we may call a disadvantaged life style of not sowing, reaping and planning, are still being catered for by God.

Secondly, Jesus also talked about the lilies of the field, which even exceeded King Solomon in all his glories, yet these lilies had a very short life span.

Come to think of it: God takes care of the birds, even though they don’t sow, reap or store up food. He also takes care of the lilies even though they have a very short life span. Why? The reason is because what seems to be a disadvantage to these birds and lilies, are issues they have never been bordered with. Daily, they live, depending on God’s providence.

This is how Jesus expects us to live. He doesn’t want us to be carried away by the weight of the things we think we don’t have [which we actually have in Christ], but to rather wholeheartedly focus on what we already have, because they’re far more important.

Such an attitude will birth gratitude, which will compel us to recognize and appreciate what we have. Anytime we do that, we would simply be recognizing and appreciating God, the only source of all what we have.

In summary:

-Ingratitude is the bed rock of anxiety; and it’s an attitude of lack of recognition and appreciation of what we already have.

*Anxiety is an attitude or a life style that blinds us from recognizing and appreciating what we have, because it engulfs (swallows) us with the false consciousness of what we think or feel we don’t have.

*There’re big problems that come along with anxiety.

My dear friend, anxiety is a negative emotion; and triumphing over it is something you can’t do without Jesus. He’s the only one who can really help you to obtain mastery over your negative emotions. What you need right now in case you’re not in a relationship with Jesus is to enter into one with Him. You can do that by simply praying the following prayer of faith:

“Dear God, according to Romans 4:25, I believe in my heart that Jesus died for my sins, and rose again to make me right with you, in order to fill me with your goodness. I also confess with my mouth that Jesus is Lord. Today, I accept Jesus into my heart as my Personal Lord and Saviour.

In accordance with Romans 10:10, which say if I believe with my heart and confess with my mouth, I will be saved, I know that from now henceforth: I am born again; I am a new creation in Christ, old things are passed away, behold, all things have become new. I have the very life of God in me; I am God’s righteousness in Christ. I am lifted with Christ and together we are seated in heaven at the right hand of the Father, far, far above principalities and powers. Just as Christ is, so am I in this world, in Jesus’ Name”. Amen.

Congratulations! You’re now born again. Welcome to God’s supernatural family built on the foundation that’s Christ. I’m certain that you have been blessed by this piece. Please, don’t hesitate to leave your comment and recommend this site to someone you love and care for. You can also send me a direct mail through prosperanang@gmail.com in order to share some spiritual issues that are bothering you, bearing in mind that your spiritual welfare is my utmost concern. I love you and I’m praying for you. Remain forever blessed in Christ.

Jesus is Lord!

 

