I’m sure it will interest you to know that God’s not actually interested in where you’re coming from [your past] or the present situation in which you find yourself. This is not to say that He doesn’t care; He does care: “Casting all your care upon him; FOR HE CARES FOR YOU.” [1 Peter 5:7]. You see, He cares, yet, He’s more interested in where He’s taking you to than where you’re now or where you’re coming from.

When He called Abraham, He knew quiet well that Abraham was from a background of moon worshipers; yet He chose to be silent about his past. This is reflected in the simple instruction He gave to Abraham: “Now the LORD had said unto Abram, Get thee out of thy country, and from thy kindred, and from thy father’s house, unto a land that I will shew thee: And I will make of thee a great nation, and I will bless thee, and make thy name great; and thou shalt be a blessing: And I will bless them that bless thee, and curse him that curseth thee: and in thee shall all families of the earth be blessed” [Genesis 12:1-3 KJV].

In the same way, God also instructed Moses to ask the children of Israel to ‘…go forward” [Exodus 14:15]. Speaking to Joshua, God said: “arise, go over this Jordan, thou, and all this people, unto the land which I do give to them, even to the children of Israel” [Joshua 1:2].

In the two instances cited above, the persons God spoke to had cogent reasons why they felt the way they felt at the time, yet God’s Word to them was straightforward; “Get thee out of thy country… go forward… arise…”

This boils down to the fact that in spite of what they were into at the time, God was more interested in where He was taking them to than where they were at the time, their past and present notwithstanding.

My dear friend believe me, God has never been so much interested in people’s past, because He has always had something better ahead, not what lies behind. Speaking to Israel, He said, “Remember ye not the former things, neither consider the things of old” [Isaiah 43:18].

Why did He say this? It’s because “I will do a new thing” [Isaiah 43:19]. New things aren’t done in the past, but in the future; they’re ahead, and not behind.

While on earth, Jesus operated on the same supernatural platform like the Father. The moment He helped Peter and his colleagues in their fishing adventure, Peter got caught up by his past and felt resentment, which he expressed thus: “Depart from me, for I am a sinful man, O Lord!” [Luke 5:1-8]. One would have expected Jesus to start telling Peter the story of his life time, which He [Jesus] of course was familiar with. Rather, like God, Jesus saw differently. This was demonstrated by His silence over the matter. Considering that He believed in Peter’s future, He said to him, “…do not be afraid. From now on you will catch men” [Luke 5:10]. You see, all what you can get from your past is “fear”, something you don’t need if you will ever get into the glorious future which God has for you.

It was with the understanding that our past doesn’t count as far as God is concerned, that Apostle Paul quipped: “I do not consider, brethren, that I have captured and made it my own [get]; but one thing I do [it is my one aspiration]: FORGETTING WHAT LIES BEHIND AND STRAINING FORWARD TO WHAT LIES AHEAD” [Philippians 3:13 Amplified Bible].

All the aforementioned references from God’s infallible Word, drawn from both the Old and New Covenants, point to the fact that God is more interested in the glorious future He has created us for than our past and present situations. You need to start seeing things the way God wants you to see them, and not the way your situation defines them.

In case you are in a terrible situation presently, I want you to know that even in the midst of that situation, you can still excel in all your endeavours and become everything that God wants you to become. He is able to do that exceedingly, abundantly, above all what you may ask or think [Ephesians 3:20].

What you need to do is simple: you must quickly learn in the light of God’s Word how to deal with your past. I am going to show you five [5] simple attitude that you’d need to take out time and cultivate. But before I do that, in case you are not yet in a supernatural relationship with Jesus, you’d need to establish one first, because that’s where it all begins. Getting in to such a relationship with Jesus is what it means to be born again. You can do that by praying this simple prayer of faith:

“Dear God, according to Romans 4:25, I believe in my heart that Jesus died for my sins, and rose again to make me right with you, in order to fill me with your goodness. I also confess with my mouth that Jesus is Lord. Today, I accept Jesus into my heart as my Personal Lord and Saviour.

In accordance with Romans 10:10, which say if I believe with my heart and confess with my mouth, I will be saved, I know that from now henceforth:

I am born again; I am a new creation in Christ, old things are passed away, behold, all things have become new. I have the very life of God in me; I am God’s righteousness in Christ. I am lifted with Christ and together we are seated in heaven at the right hand of the Father, far, far above principalities and powers. Just as Christ is, so am I in this world, in the name of Jesus”. Amen.
Congratulations! You’re now born again. Alleluia! While in the midst of what you’re going through, don’t get scared. Just put up the following attitude, which are a reflection of the state of your mind in the light of God’s Word:

Don’t waste your time to think about the wrong things people have done to you.

Don’t allow what you have gone or are going through presently to dominate your mind.

Be too busy meditating in the Word of God, in spite of how tight your schedule is.

Fill your mind with the fact that you are God’s beloved, and He loves you dearly and unconditionally.

Expect good things to happen to you always just as God’s Word says.

This is how you excel and become all of what God wants you to be, in spite of your past and present status. Always remember that God sees differently; He’s more interested in where He’s taking you to than where He took you from.

In case you have been blessed by this message, please don’t hesitate to leave your comment. You could send me a mail (prosperanang@gmail.com) on any issue bothering you. Your spiritual welfare is my concern. Remain blessed in Christ.

JESUS IS LORD!

 

